FAIR Council

The FAIR Council is the most senior institution at FAIR GmbH. It convenes at least twice a year to pass guidelines for the management and to approve budgets, medium-term scientific plans and the convening of committees, for example. The council comprises a maximum of two representatives from each contractual partner and, where appropriate, other consultants. It elects the chairperson and his deputy for two years.

Delegates to the Council of FAIR GmbH


  • Volkmar Dietz - German Federal Ministry for Education and Research (BMBF) (Chair)
  • Catalin Borcea - Horia Hulubei National Institute of Physics and Nuclear Engineering (NIPNE/IFIN-HH) (Vice Chair)

Finland / Sweden:

  • Katri Huitu - Helsinki Institute of Physics
  • Niklas Ottosson - Swedish Research Council
  • Thomas Nilsson - Chalmers University of Technology (Advisor)
  • Antti Väihkönen - Helsinki Institute of Physics (Advisor)


  • Fanny Farget - National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS)
  • Patricia Roussel-Chomaz - Alternative Energies and Atomic Energy Commission (CEA)


  • Andrea Fischer - BMBF
  • Ulrike Mattig - Hessisches Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kunst (HMWK)
  • Maximilian Jedemann - BMBF (Advisor)
  • Michael Rafii - BMBF (Advisor)
  • Johannes Lönne - Dornier Consulting International GmbH (Advisor)


  • Sibaji Raha - Bose Institute, Kolkata
  • Bikash Sinha - Variable Energy Cyclotron Centre (VECC)
  • Madhusudan Reddy Nandineni - Embassy of India, Berlin (Advisor)
  • Rakesh Bhandari - Inter University Accelerator Centre (IUAC) (Advisor)


  • Mateusz Gaczynski - Department of Innovation and Development of the Ministry of Science and Higher Education, Warsaw
  • Zbigniew Majka - Jagiellonian University Kraków
  • Maciej Chorowski - Wrocław University of Science and Technology, Wrocław (Advisor)


  • Cornelia Anca Ghinescu - Ministry of Research and Innovation
  • Ruxandra Popescu - Ministry of Research and Innovation
  • Ionel Andrei - Extreme Light Infrastructure - NP (ELI-NP) (Advisor)
  • Nicolae Victor Zamfir - IFIN-HH (Advisor)


  • Vyacheslav A. Pershukov - State Atomic Energy Corporation (ROSATOM)
  • Victor Yu. Egorychev – Director NRC Kurchatov Institute
  • Peter Bogdanov - ROSATOM (Advisor)
  • Michail Rychev - NRC Kurchatov Institute / XFEL (Advisor)


  • Albin Kralj - Ministry of Education, Science and Sports

United Kingdom:

  • Justin O’Byrne - Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC)

Czech Republic

  • Marek Vyšinka, Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports
  • Andrej Kugler, Nuclear Physics Institute of the Czech Academy of Sciences


  • Chair, AFC
  • Chair, BFC
  • Chair, ECE
  • Chair, IKRB
  • Chair, JSC
  • Chair, IKMG
  • Chair, MWG Council
  • Chair, AFC OCWG
  • Chair, AFC CBWG
  • Chair, ECSG

from FAIR