AFC - Administrative and Finance Committee

The Administrative and Finance Committee has the task of advising the FAIR Council on all issues relating to administration and finances, and where appropriate it makes recommendations for optimization. This includes, among other things, the review and verification of all budgets. The contractual partners of FAIR can each delegate a maximum of two representatives and, where appropriate, additional consultants to the AFC. The chairperson and his deputy are appointed by the Council for a period of two years.

Delegates to the FAIR Administrative and Finance Committee


  • Alicja Nowakowska - Jagiellonian University Krakow (Chair)
  • Antti Väihkönen - Helsinki Institute of Physics (Vice Chair)

Finland / Sweden:

  • Jaana Aalto - Academy of Finland
  • Mikael Ålund - Swedish Research Council (Vetenkapsrådet)


  • Anne-François Duval - National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS)
  • Philippe Sassier - Alternative Energies and Atomic Energy Commission (CEA)


  • Maximilian Jedemann - Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF)
  • Ulrike Mattig - Hessisches Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kunst (HMWK) (Advisor)
  • Michael Rafii - BMBF (Advisor)
  • Johannes Lönne - Dornier Consulting International GmbH (Advisor)


  • Sanjeev Kumar Varshney- Department of Science & Technology (DST)
  • Subhasis Chattopadhyay - Variable Energy Cyclotron Centre (VECC)
  • Madhusudan Reddy Nandineni - Embassy of India, Berlin (Advisor)
  • Sanjay Kumar Ghosh – Bose Institute (Advisor)
  • Gaurav Aggarwal - Department of Science & Technology (DST) (Advisor)


  • Gabriela Nowicka - Jagiellonian University Kraków
  • Maciej Chorowski - Wrocław University of Science and Technology, Wrocław (Advisor)


  • Cornelia Anca Ghinescu - Ministry of Research Innovation and Digitalization
  • Gabriele Teodorescu - Ministry of Research Innovation and Digitalization
  • Ionel Andrei - Extreme Light Infrastructure - NP (ELI-NP) (Advisor)
  • Alexandru Popescu - IFIN-HH (Advisor)


  • Peter V. Bogdanov - State Atomic Energy Corporation (ROSATOM)
  • Vladimir I. Savosin - ROSATOM
  • Victor L. Varentsov - ROSATOM (Advisor)
  • Alexander Petrov - Kurchatov Institute (Advisor)
  • Michail Rychev - European XFEL GmbH (Advisor)


  • Albin Kralj - Ministry of Higher Education, Science and Innovation (MVZI)

United Kingdom:

  • Georgina Freeman - Science & Technology Facilities Council (STFC)


Guests (ex officio)

  • Chair, FAIR Council
  • Chair, Operation Cost Working Group (OCWG)
  • Chair, MAC
  • Chair, IKRB
  • Chair, Scientific Council
  • Chair, ECE
  • Chair, MWG Council
  • Vice Chair, MWG Council
  • Consultant