By using the website you agree to the use of cookies. Privacy Information

FAIR Council

The FAIR Council is the most senior institution at FAIR GmbH. It convenes at least twice a year to pass guidelines for the management and to approve budgets, medium-term scientific plans and the convening of committees, for example. The council comprises a maximum of two representatives from each contractual partner and, where appropriate, other consultants. It elects the chairperson and his deputy for two years.

Delegates to the Council of FAIR GmbH


  • Georg Schütte - German Ministry for Research and Education (BMBF) (Chair)
  • Thomas Nilsson - Chalmers University of Technology (Vice Chair)

Finland / Sweden:

  • Paula Eerola - Helsinki Institute of Physics (HIP)
  • Catarina Sahlberg - Swedish Research Council
  • Mikko Sainio - HIP (Advisor)
  • Antti Väihkönen - HIP (Advisor)
  • Niklas Ottosson - Swedish Research Council (Advisor)


  • Fanny Farget - National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS)
  • Patricia Roussel-Chomaz - Alternative Energies and Atomic Energy Commission (CEA)


  • Volkmar Dietz - BMBF
  • Karlheinz Langanke - GSI Helmholtzzentrum für Schwerionenforschung GmbH (GSI)
  • Christine Fey - BMBF (Advisor)
  • Ulrike Mattig - Hessisches Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kunst (HMWK) (Advisor)


  • Bikash Sinha - Variable Energy Cyclotron Centre (VECC)
  • Rajachandran Madhan - Embassy of India, Berlin (Advisor)
  • Rakesh Bhandari - Inter University Accelerator Centre (IUAC) (Advisor)


  • Mateusz Gaczynski - Department of Innovation and Development of the Ministry of Science and Higher Education, Warsaw
  • Zbigniew Majka - Jagiellonian University Kraków
  • Jacek T. Gierlinski - Jagiellonian University Kraków (Advisor)


  • Ionel Andrei - Ministry of Research and Innovation
  • Anca Ghinescu - Ministry of Research and Innovation
  • Catalin Borcea - Horia Hulubei National Institute of Physics and Nuclear Engineering (NIPNE/IFIN-HH) (Advisor)
  • Nicolae Victor Zamfir - IFIN-HH (Advisor)


  • Vyacheslav A. Pershukov - State Atomic Energy Corporation (ROSATOM)
  • Vladimir E. Fortov - Russian Academy of Sciences (RAS)
  • Peter Bogdanov - ROSATOM (Advisor)
  • Oleg Patarakin - ROSATOM (Advisor)
  • Victor Varentsov - ROSATOM (Advisor)
  • Alexander Petrov - National Research Centre Kurchatov Institute (Advisor)
  • Michail Rychev - NRC Kurchatov Institute / XFEL (Advisor)


  • Albin Kralj - Ministry of Education, Science and Sports

United Kingdom:

  • Janet Seed - Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC)


  • Chair, AFC
  • Chair, BFC
  • Chair, ECE
  • Chair, IKRB
  • Chair, MAC
  • Chair, Scientific Council
  • Chair, MWG Council
  • Vice Chair, MWG Council

from FAIR

To top

Enlarge picture
3rd FAIR Council Meeting - March 28, 2011
(c) 2018 FAIR
  •  Home|
  • Contact