NUSTAR Meeting

Dr. Yoshiki Tanaka receives FAIR-GENCO-Award for young scientists

The winner of the FAIR-GENCO Young Scientist Award, Dr. Yoshiki Tanaka (m.), with GENCO president Professor Dr. Christoph Scheidenberger (l.) and GENCO vice-president Professor Dr. Nasser Kalantar-Nayestanaki.

New members: Professor Dr. Piet Van Duppen (University of Leuven, Belgium); Professor Dr. Nasser Kalantar-Nayestanaki, GENCO vice-president; Professor Dr. Maria Borge (University of Madrid, Spain); Professor Dr. Christoph Scheidenberger, GENCO president; PD Dr. Peter Thirolf (LMU Munich); Professor Dr. Hendrik Schatz (NSCL/MSU, USA) (from left); Photos: Gaby Otto, GSI Helmholtzzentrum für Schwerionenforschung

This year's FAIR-GENCO Young Scientist Award goes to Dr. Yoshiki Tanaka from the University of Tokio. The award is sponsored by the FAIR-GSI Exotic Nuclei Community (GENCO) and endowed with 1,000 Euro. The bestowal by GENCO president Professor Dr. Christoph Scheidenberger and vice-president Professor Dr. Nasser Kalantar-Nayestanaki took place on Thursday, March 2, 2017 in a special colloquium in the framework of the yearly GENCO meeting at FAIR and GSI. Furthermore five renowned scientists were honored with a GENCO Membership Award. The awardees were chosen in advance from a multitude of recommendations by a committee of nine international scientists.


Dr. Tanaka searched for bound states of so-called Eta' mesons with carbon atoms in a novel experiment at the GSI fragment separator FRS. The existence of these bound states is theoretically predicted and already for many years experiments are conducted to find them. Although bound states were not observed in Dr. Tanakas experiment yet, by putting upper bounds on the formation cross section he succeeded for the first time to draw quantitative conclusions on the strength of the interaction of both particles and the binding forces taking effect in the process. This advance leads to an improvement of the theoretical understanding and gives target-oriented indications for the design of detectors and experiments for the further search. It is therefore perceived as an important milestone on the way to the discovery among the experts.


Scientists bestowed with the GENCO Membership Award are: Professor Dr. Maria Borge (University of Madrid, Spain) for her important contributions to the understanding of exotic nuclear systems, especially via beta-delayed particle emission studies; Professor Dr. Piet Van Duppen (University of Leuven, Belgium) for advancing laser-ionization techniques for production and post-acceleration of radioactive beams, and for nuclear structure and decay studies, in particular investigations of shape coexistence; Thomas Glasmacher (FRIB, USA) for exploring rare isotopes with new experimental techniques involving gamma-rays and for opening new horizons with design and construction of the FRIB facility; Professor Dr. Hendrik Schatz (MSU/NSCL, USA) for outstanding contributions to nucleosynthesis in explosive stellar events; as well as PD Dr. Peter Thirolf (LMU Munich) for his remarkable achievements in spectroscopy of strongly-deformed nuclei and new applications of laser-driven particle acceleration in nuclear and medical physics.


More about GENCO

To top

(c) 2018 FAIR
  •  Home|
  • Contact